Hobby Farming · Our Farm

A Crazy Week to Start our Farm

So, when we first moved the majority of our animals over to our house from my parents, I had mentioned how I think we chose the coldest weekend of the year…well this was followed by the coldest and snow(iest? is that a word, I don’t know, now it is) week of the year!  We got hit by 2 massive snow storms, with high winds and snow up to my waist.

In the first picture you can see the tip of the triangle rabbit hutch on the left side…in the last picture, where is the rabbit hutch!?

Everything was a struggle, feeding, watering, just getting to the animals was a chore, but we did it, and didn’t lose any livestock, thank goodness!  We are still digging out, but things are looking up.  I was able to fix the lid that flew off the chicken coop today, and put the chickens back in their coop (after being in our back room for a week and in rabbit hutches for a couple days).  The handle to one of our rabbit hutches had also broken, due to the door being frozen shut several times, and being tugged on.  So that was fixed today.  Our 2 male rabbits were returned to their hutches… AND I got 2 eggs from our barred rock hen for the first time this “spring” 🙂 It was a good day on the farm today!

I have neglected posting this past week, because things have been a little crazy, so hopefully next week will be better 🙂

Please let me know if there is anything you would like to know about!  Also if you like what you see follow my blog, like and comment, it keeps me motivated to keep writing and I love hearing from you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

