Planning

Daily Schedule

I have only just started scheduling, but so far I have read a lot of homeschooling information saying to RELAX, don’t try to do everything in the first day, week, semester, you have time!

So I am trying to follow that advice in my pre-conceived planning.  Right now I  plan to have school 4 days a week, for 4 hours a day…however, the last hour will be fun activities like Art, Phys. Ed. or a video lesson. In the middle of the day I plan to have lunch, but also do kitchen work and light chores, the girls LOVE to help me cook anyways, so I figure if they are at home for lunch, they might as well learn a thing or two about cooking while we’re at it. Friday’s will either be field trip days or catch up days, whichever is needed that week.  The beautiful thing about homeschooling is that you can decide right?

I am planning to start in July, this will give us the extra time to complete all of the required hours for the year, have extra breaks when needed, and get into a routine before the official school year starts.  Many homeschoolers teach all year round, to allow for extra breaks through out the year.  I think I prefer to still have a block of time off in the summer.

The State of Colorado states that, “Home school programs must have no less than 172 days of instruction, averaging 4 contact hours per day”.

Home School in Colorado. (2016, January 27). Retrieved February 21, 2016, from http://www.cde.state.co.us/choice/homeschool

This is how I have our day laid out for the first month, after that we will see how it is working for us:

Our day will start at 9, giving us time to get up and eat, and relax a bit before starting to work, I HATE rushing in the morning.

9-10am: Reading and Writing Book Work

10-10:30: Reading (book of choice), Read aloud

10:30-11:30: Math (may vary)

11:30- noon: chores, kitchen help, play

Noon-1:00: Lunch and more play

1:00-2:00: (MON/WED) Geography/History

1:00-2:00: (TUES/THURS) Science

2:00-3:00: Art/Computer/PE

If we study 4 days a week, July 15th through May 15th we will have approximately 177 hours of instruction, adding in the educational field trips on Fridays will give us time for holidays. In fact we could take all of December off for Christmas and still only have to study 4 Fridays…

As for now, that is all the information I have, my favorite blog has many resources pertaining to scheduling, check our Only Passionate Curiosity here.

 

Leave a Reply

